About BTC

Our Vision

“ Bendigo Theatre Company is passionate about creating vibrant and memorable theatre for the local community. ”

We aim to become a hub of theatre and creativity in Central Victoria. To lead local cultural conversations. To be able to provide support and encouragement to other community groups through sharing of resources and knowledge.

To hold a pivotal place in the Greater Bendigo artistic landscape and to reach as many people as possible.

Abe Watson, President

Who we are

Bendigo Theatre Company is a community theatre company dedicated to producing high quality theatre.

Located in the regional Victorian town of Bendigo, Bendigo Theatre Company seeks to mount numerous productions each year, ranging from musicals to full length dramas.


We aim to provide opportunities for members of the community to enjoy and develop their theatrical talents locally and to gain experience needed to achieve their goals for future careers. We are delighted that many have attained these goals and are now working at a professional level.


Each year we are privileged to be associated with so many members of our local community involved in production teams and behind the scenes, as cast members and musicians, and as patrons who support our productions.


Executive Committee

Bendigo Theatre Company is proud to have a dedicated team of individuals at the helm of our Company.



Bevan Maddden

Vice President

Jenni Clohesy


Maureen Fleiner


Years Running
Patrons Each Year

A Brief History

Bendigo Theatre Company dates back to the 1952 Bendigo Operatic Society as it was then titled. This Society offered the community the chance to be involved in an active and enthusiastic company where they could enjoy and participate in many facets of theatre.


With the first production of The Chocolate Soldier, staged at the Capital Theatre on March 17th 1953, the Bendigo Operatic Society hit the ground running with audiences raving about the quality theatre that was accessible in a regional town. Since then, members have sought to uphold that standard. As time passed and the name changed to Bendigo Theatre Company in 1980, the goal was always to produce quality theatre whilst engaging our local community in the performing arts.


In 2020, we are proud to be staging our 200th production after existing in the local theatre landscape for 68 years. Over the course of those 68 years we are proud of our brilliant successes and we are proud of our spectacular failures. We are a volunteer-run community theatre group with big ambitions who are passionate about creating vibrant theatre for the local community, determined to create a safe, all-inclusive, and welcoming environment for all.

Scroll to Top